Daily Archives: 2 July, 2010

Normal service will be resumed shortly…

So…I have the keys to my permanent accommodation here in Banepa. I’ve spent most of the week sorting various things out, so not too much time for reflection over the coming weekend. I’m quite looking forward to having my own space at long last, and will be spending the weekend organising and painting. (It doesn’t need painting, but if I’m going to be here for two years, then it might as well be to my choosing). So not much in the way of written stuff this time….

However, here’s a photo I’m particularly pleased with…It’s obviously an outsider’s view, inspired in part by the work of Robert Frank. (Remember, this used to be a photography blog once upon a time!).

It’s in the ‘secret’ bar that I mentioned a couple of posts ago. It’s a real slice of Nepali life, and a good place to practice my language skills. The jerry cans at the back hold the raksi, with the darker one being the extra strong one. Designer labels not required. The woman in the picture runs the bar, and along with her husband brews the raksi.

Barkeeper in Banepa, Nepal. John Callaway 2010

Barkeeper in Banepa, Nepal. John Callaway 2010