On the road again…

So ends the week long language ‘refresher’ course in Kathmandu. A chance to catch up with other volunteers and to share experiences, to enjoy a hot shower(!), visit tourist bars and restaurants, pay tourist prices and of course build on the language. An enjoyable week certainly, but I’m glad to be heading back  ‘home’ to Banepa. I’m pleased that my language is continuing to develop:- a combination of diligence and necessity I guess. I fear it would be too easy to live and work in Kathmandu and live a parallel life as an ‘ex-pat’, rather than integrate into the local community which I am slowly but surely doing in Banepa.

The weekend prior to traveling to Kathmandu marked the beginning of the festival of Teej, a celebration for women. The two projects that I am currently working with provide support to some 250 people who are HIV positive, a significant proportion of whom are women.

Ginger & Garlic. John Callaway 2010

Ginger & Garlic. John Callaway 2010

Teej. John Callaway 2010

Teej. John Callaway 2010

My Green Tambourine.... John Callaway 2010

My Green Tambourine.... John Callaway 2010

These are a few of the photos out of 90 odd that I took, (with their blessing and permission) from the celebration held at Sakriya Plus Nepal. A  one day celebration of Teej, with a number of women travelling to the office to enjoy a meal, sing and dance. The ‘politics’ of Teej is interesting….. and as an ‘outsider’ it is difficult to fully grasp whether or not Teej is being (re)claimed by women. What is evident however is that the women at SPN clearly enjoyed themselves and yet again I had the privilege of witnessing another aspect of Nepal culture from the inside.

Another photo here… and a random portrait that I particularly like from a trip to Bhaktapur last week…

Old Man. Bhaktapur. John Callaway 2010

Old Man. Bhaktapur. John Callaway 2010

3 responses to “On the road again…

  • Lesley Callaway

    I’m liking the colour!! xx

  • johnnyc1959

    B&W next week then…xx

  • Chris Lawrence

    John –
    We have friends who live in Nepal that we know from Anguilla … can I give them your details (email and for me please) … Sita and Mehdev are hard working, ambitious Nepali’s and would love to meet you from what I’ve told them about you and what you’re doing … pics are great … a society of ritual and festivals is one of time marking and continuance … stay safe … “delight in worldly joy “

Leave a Reply

