Contract…?

Continuing in vaguely philosophical mode….

She approaches with no hint of a smile
“One photograph” she demands
Pointing at my camera

She sits on the step before me
Fixes me with her gaze
Challenging me to walk by

I take one photograph
A portrait that captures a moment in time forever
What is she thinking, what lies behind those eyes?

She reaches into her bag
Pulls out a faded and torn photograph
A memory or a memorial?

Her dead daughter and grandchildren she says
Handing me a piece of card
“…I have no money” it says

She fixes me with her gaze again
Daring me to break our unspoken contract
“…give me your pieces of silver…”                         JC :10 September 2011

Contract... John Callaway 2011

Contract... John Callaway 2011

One response to “Contract…?

Leave a Reply

