The journey home

January 2012 already, and suddenly two years doesn’t seem to be a very long time. My placement finishes towards the end of March, and already there’s a process of ‘taking stock’ going on. What have I achieved whilst I’m here? What have the organisations that I worked with gained by my being here? Have I done all that I wanted to whilst in Nepal? What do I do next? How am I going to manage a ‘culture shock’ in reverse? Have I changed my thinking about certain things? The usual stuff really! (And not necessarily in that order).

The game of life....? John Callaway 2011

The game of life....? John Callaway 2011

I’ve got one more field trip to the far west of Nepal with CSRC, starting later on today, and lasting for 12 days. This trip will undoubtedly form the basis of some further narrative, but I suspect that after that point, this blog may become a little more self reflective for a while, as I start to answer some of the questions above. In truth I already have started this process, but committing to print is perhaps little harder.

What I do know is that having worked for the same organisation for 14 years before coming out to Nepal, I’m a little out of practice in the job application & interview process! In the last couple of weeks I’ve sent off a couple of speculative applications and CVs, just to test the water so to speak.

I’ve certainly had a lot of time to read, and Rabindranath Tagore is a South Asian voice that has a particular resonance. So here he is again…

The Journey Home

The time that my journey takes is long and the way of it long. 

I came out on the chariot of the first gleam of light, and pursued my

voyage through the wildernesses of worlds leaving my track on many a star and planet. 

It is the most distant course that comes nearest to thyself, 

and that training is the most intricate which leads to the utter simplicity of a tune. 

The traveler has to knock at every alien door to come to his own, 

and one has to wander through all the outer worlds to reach the innermost shrine at the end. 

This Way Home. Aka. Maybe Spielberg was right... John Callaway 2011

This Way Home. Aka. Maybe Spielberg was right... John Callaway 2011

2 responses to “The journey home

  • Andy Swapp

    Wonderfully reflective stuff Johnny as ever and finishing off with another great shot, even though it has it’s funny tag line, it’s a great shot. Will you be publishing them and the shots of your stay there in some form. They deserve it I truly believe. The line from Tagore “The traveller has to knock at every alien door to come to his own..” had particular resonance for me. Wonderful! Thank you also for the comments left on the blog that nobody reads………Bestests Andy

  • Lesley Callaway

    Two years IS a long time and skype and visits home don’t compensate for all of us here missing you and being very pleased that you are coming home xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

