Talkin’ bout a revolution…

I found myself in the Open Theatre in Kathmandu last weekend. Its a venue for rallies in the city and its always an interesting place to be when a big event is going on. This time it was the turn of the Communist Party of Nepal, Marxist-Leninist.

CP-UML Rally, Open Theatre, Kathmandu. John Callaway 2012

CP-UML Rally, Open Theatre, Kathmandu. John Callaway 2012

I generally feel pretty comfortable at these events, and mostly people treat me with curiosity. I can’t recall ever seeing another non-Nepali when I’ve attended, and such benign curiosity is probably just as well as I tend to stand out more than a little. These days I can usually follow a reasonable amount of what is being said from the stage, although in truth the photographer in me is frequently drawn to the faces in the crowd.

Face In The Crowd. John Callaway 2012

Face In The Crowd. John Callaway 2012

In just under three weeks I’m going to be leaving, which means that the next scheduled deadline for the new Nepal Constitution to be written, (May 2012), will be after I’ve returned to the UK. Having been scheduled to be completed by May 2010, shortly after I arrived in Nepal, it has seen a number of extensions to the constitution writing process being granted. However, as I’ve just been accepted to study a part-time Masters Degree in South Asian Studies at The School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAA), with my major subject being “Culture & Conflict in the Himalayas”, I suspect that as I figure out what to write here when I return, Nepal is likely to still feature from time. I’ll certainly be following things from afar with interest…

There are alternatives to capitalism. John Callaway 2012

There are alternatives to capitalism. John Callaway 2012

Not that there won’t be things to photograph/write about in the UK!  A brief trip back to the UK a couple of weeks ago, ( happy birthday L xx!), gave me a chance to go to St Paul’s just before the eviction of the “Occupy” camp.

St. Paul's welcomes careful bankers. John Callaway 2012

St. Paul's welcomes careful bankers. John Callaway 2012

St Paul’s welcomes careful bankers indeed…

2 responses to “Talkin’ bout a revolution…

  • Lesley Callaway

    I’m amazed I got a mention!!!! Just as well we went to London when we did,the camp has been completely removed now!!xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • johnnyc1959

    Momentary lapse of concentration 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

