That flashbulb moment….

“Don’t ask me why I obsessively look to rock ’n’ roll bands for some kind of model for a better society. I guess it’s just that I glimpsed something beautiful in a flashbulb moment once, and perhaps mistaking it for prophecy have been seeking its fulfilment ever since.”

[Lester Bangs]

Mick Slacker & Keef Pilchard.... John Callaway 2014

Mick Slacker & Keef Pilchard…. John Callaway 2014

“I’m Barry, and I’m a painter and decorator from Leigh Park…”

[Mick Slacker. The Bog Rolling Stones]

Get Yer Ya-Yas Out.... John Callaway 2014

Get Yer Ya-Yas Out…. John Callaway 2014

…and so to Victorious 2014…

The Struts. John Callaway 2014

The Struts. John Callaway 2014

“Don’t wanna live as an unsung melody
I’d rather listen to the silence telling me
I can’t hear you, I don’t fear you…”

[“Could Have Been Me”: The Struts]

British Sea Power. John Callaway 2014

British Sea Power. John Callaway 2014

Maybe just me, but was there genius at work putting British Sea Power, Ocean Colour Scene & Seasick Steve on the same bill in the home of the Royal Navy…  [Just a thought…  🙂 ]

“You are astronomical
Fans of alcohol
So welcome in
Arising in the east
And setting in the west
All waving flags…”

[“Waving Flags“: British Sea Power]

Ocean Colour Scene. John Callaway 2014

Ocean Colour Scene. John Callaway 2014

“Now the old days print all the thumbs
The threat bare announcement surround over town
Now we’re being sentenced to 99 years
Still I don’t want to leave England…”

[“I Don’t Want To Leave England” : Ocean Colour Scene]

Seasick Steve. John Callaway 2014

Seasick Steve. John Callaway 2014

“I might not be perfect but I’m me to the bone
I don’t need to change my style
Been this way for a long long while
There ain’t nothing that I got to fix
You can’t teach an old dog new tricks…”

[“You Can’t Teach An Old Dog New Tricks” : Seasick Steve]

More photographs here…

 


One response to “That flashbulb moment….

  • Swappers

    Fab! As ever, Johnny C. – Great shots and great bands . . . well not ENTIRELY sure about the The Bogs!?!?
    ;o)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.